Elf/Hornet Register
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Speaking of Door Cappings...

3 posters

Go down

Speaking of Door Cappings... Empty Speaking of Door Cappings...

Post  Red Riley Tue Feb 10, 2009 7:39 pm

Has anyone ever made a set of Door Cappings from scratch? I'm a pretty fair carpenter, and once I've finished my new dash, I'd like to try making a set of door caps in the same wood as my dash (don't know what that will be yet). Just wondering since I've never seen a set up close, how they attach, etc. I wonder if someone out there has a pattern?
Red Riley
Red Riley
Admin

Back to top Go down

Speaking of Door Cappings... Empty Wooden Door Cappings

Post  Elf Service Tue Feb 10, 2009 8:25 pm

Red Riley wrote:Has anyone ever made a set of Door Cappings from scratch? I'm a pretty fair carpenter, and once I've finished my new dash, I'd like to try making a set of door caps in the same wood as my dash (don't know what that will be yet). Just wondering since I've never seen a set up close, how they attach, etc. I wonder if someone out there has a pattern?

I have a set of genuine Rover Mini Cappings in Walnut.
I can take some images and measurements etc.
They are attached by a few black countersink self tapping screws, so very simple. I'm not sure if it is worth the effort in making your own unless you have a specific design in mind.

Let me know if you need more information.

Andrew
Elf Service
Elf Service

Back to top Go down

Speaking of Door Cappings... Empty Re: Speaking of Door Cappings...

Post  Red Riley Tue Feb 10, 2009 8:30 pm

I'm sure it will be a challenge to make my own, but it would give me the option of having a match with the dash and in a wood that would stand out from the crowd.
Red Riley
Red Riley
Admin

Back to top Go down

Post  O'Riley Wed Feb 11, 2009 5:03 am