Elf/Hornet Register
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Welding advice please...

5 posters

Go down

Welding advice please... Empty Welding advice please...

Post  freda Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:45 pm

I was down at the Mini 50 event last weekend and came home with loads of enthusiasm for getting Freda back on the road after way too long.
I don't have the spare pennies at the moment to give the shell to a professional for them to sort out (front panel, front wings, inner and outer a panels, doors, bodged sills, etc etc...), so thought it'd be a good idea to have a crack at the welding myself. Having not done anything like this before, can anybody recommend any books or guides on welding for the total novice?

Also, as an aside, does anybody know whether it's possible to galvanise a stripped body shell? I appreciate that I'd need to put bolts into subframe mount captive nut holes and the like, to stop them clogging up, but it seemed to be an easy way to keep the tin worm at bay for years to come. I used to work for a company that sent steel reinforcing bar off to be galvanised and thought it worked out at something like £500 per tonne, so could be a good investment for the future...

Many thanks

Ben
freda
freda

Back to top Go down

Welding advice please... Empty Re: Welding advice please...

Post  Elf Service Wed Aug 12, 2009 3:09 pm

Hi Ben

Have a look at the Haynes Mini Restoration Manual (H440) as this looks at both mechanical and bodywork restoration.
Re galvanising, I know of a Fiat 500 being totally galvanised but not a Mini. I don't see any reason for not going through this process other than a lot of hard work in flating down the Zinc in preparation for painting. Items such as Sub-Frames would be ideal but I don't know if the process may cause distortion.

Andrew
Elf Service
Elf Service

Back to top Go down

Post  asahartz Wed Aug 12, 2009 6:56 pm