Elf/Hornet Register
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Another Hi from Lancashire

2 posters

Go down

Another Hi from Lancashire Empty Another Hi from Lancashire

Post  superworm Fri May 15, 2009 12:25 am

Hi Jan et al

I have been a member of the Register for a couple of months so I guess its time I introduced myself.

I am an ex-Aeronautical Engineer - now retired - and have played with lots of Hairyplanes in my time including EE Lightning, TSR2, Concord (without the "e"!), Jaguar, Tornado, Typhoon, Lightning II, Boeing 737/47/57/67 and 777 together with a little dabble in Nimrods, Hawks and BAE146's. My interests also include R/C Model Aircraft and Model Engineering and ducking wifely thrown missiles.

My Elfie was purchased in 1968 as a means of carrying my then coming new daughter's push chair in the boot - couldn't do that with a Mini if it was raining!. It is my second Elf, the first one being a Mk1 of 848cc but which was modified by Downton Engineering before I bought it - its was good for over 105mph ("Full" on the fuel gauge) - and I proved it - in the days when the 70mph motorway limit was but a twinkle in Barbara Castle's eye (or was it Ernie Marple's eye?). This Elf held the class record at the Lancashire Automobile Club's Woodvale Sprint and it took 3 years and a 1275 "S" to knock it off the top spot. The Elf was sold to pay for an Engagement Ring (don't all groan at once!!!) and was subsequently replaced (after a couple of months riding the bus and stealing my brother's moped) by a Mk2 Hornet which I shared with my Dad (I used the car all the time but had to bring him and Mum home from the 'tute at weekend closing times!).